A rural workshop

Just one photo this time. Usually I build my stories around a theme or a series of photos, but I really like this one. Last weekend, I had some to roam around Minglanilla town, a suburb of Cebu and usually we only pass through going south. This time, my wife was giving a presentation and I went around time looking for haircut and some options to take photos.

Along the highway there was this compound with some animals and some guys relaxing and shouting for my attention. Happens a lot in the Philippines when they see a camera. I was instantly attracted to the scene. The dark sides with all the tools and kitchen gear and who knows what. The guys to one side with their beloved fighting cock nearby. Then on the other side there is the goat ignoring everybody and the dog finally taking some efforts to get up and sniff me out. The light falling through the old cracked tarpaulin and the blue multi cab in the center (with another goat) added to the whole scene.

There is so much to see here and in a way this modern urban/rural scene in the Philippines reminds me of old paintings of farms and guesthouses. All the walls fully used to tools and gadgets and different things to see all over the frame. In a perfect world, there would have been one more subject with a tool or a beer or wheelbarrow or so in the center, but I am very happy with this as it is.

I stepped in, took three or four frames, waved my thank you to the guys at the left and went out out again. All in all it took less than 30 seconds.I spent a little sculpting the light, darkening the sides and lighting the center and adding some depth to the floor and the sides and that is it.

What do you think of this one? Please let me know in the comments

Published by ubopakes

Dutchman, environmental engineer, Wash in Schools advocate, map maker, husband, roaming the Philippines with a camera

2 thoughts on “A rural workshop

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started